Sun Down & Sun Up

Running route as displayed by Nike+ for Thursday morning 09/12/2013.

Running route as displayed by Nike+ for Thursday morning 09/12/2013.

Last night, in spite of the heat, I ran 3.5 miles. My total time was 10:37 with an average pace of 10:42. I took two short walking breaks when I felt the heat was overwhelming me. Otherwise, the run was enjoyable. At the end of the run, while walking back home, I met a neighbor for the first time. He and his family moved into the neighborhood a while ago but I never had (or made) opportunity to introduce myself. As I was walking by he happened to be out and so I stopped to say hi.

This morning, I woke up at 3:30 am. Unable to get back to sleep, I did some laundry (I’m the laundry master in the household because no one else wants to do it – but I don’t mind doing it) and tried to get back to sleep but never could. So I thought I would repeat last night’s run. I got ready and walked out into a stuffy humid morning. I must have been fatigued from last night because my time for this run was 38:24 with an average pace of 10:45. Almost a minute (overall) slower than last night. So, I’m not getting any faster but actually slowing down. Not good!

I call this pattern … “sun down to sun up” running … where I run the night before (usually at sun down although it’s never at the precise time when the set dips below the horizon) and the repeat the run at the next sun up (although it’s usually way before the sun actually rises). I don’t really recommend this pattern but it helps me stay consistent with my daily running although not consistent in the time of day.

I hope everyone has a great day and a great run.

Leave a Reply

