Monday Morning Run

My early morning running route according to Nike + on 09/16/2013.

My early morning running route according to Nike + on 09/16/2013.

I took off from running on Sunday (9/15). Not because I was sore or had any aches or pains from the Greenwood Trek 5K on Saturday (9/14). I just thought it would be good to rest. However, I wanted to do ‘something’ in the way of exercise. So I drove 90 minutes west of Indianapolis and hiked a couple of miles through Turkey Run State Park. This park has the reputation of some rugged hiking … so of course, I choose two of the more rugged trails to hike. These trails included sections where I had to scramble over huge rocks and boulders. At the end of the hike, I could feel some strain in my Achilles in both feet.

This morning, however, I wanted to run so I was up at 4:30 am to get ready for a 5:00 am run. The run was good. I was kind of slow for the first mile at 10:22 but I was able to speed up for the second and third mile and the last half mile. My overall time was 35:21 for 3.5 total miles for an average page of 10:04. It was a bit chilly with an air temperature of 60°F. And, it was drizzling at various times during the run. But, overall, it was a good run.

I hope that everyone is having a great day today!

Leave a Reply

