Early Morning Run and a New 5K

My early morning running route on September 19, 2013. As recorded by Nike+.

My early morning running route on September 19, 2013. As recorded by Nike+.

I was up by 4:30 am this morning. There was a thunderstorm approaching but I thought I had enough time to get at least 3.1 miles. So I laced up Brooks Addiction 10 shoes (I have extremely flat feet … and these motion control shoes offer the best support for me!) and headed out the door. It was about 70°F when I started and the humidity was so thick it was hard to breathe. My overall time was 31:54 with an average pace of 10:09. My fastest mile was clocked at 9:58 and the slowest at 10:22. I was somewhat slow compared to the average pace of my last three runs. I didn’t mind today. At least I was out there, in the dark, with a thunderstorm on the horizon, running. So thankful that I can do that. I was done and back inside the house when the storm finally hit. This is the first significant rain central Indiana has received in months, so I’m glad to see the rain. I would have finished the run in the rain if it worked out that way.

I registered for another 5K race. Yay! This one is called “Coach Hathaway’s Running South 5K and 10K”. Of course, I just signed up for the 5K. I don’t believe I could finish a 10K yet. This event is at Southport High School, which is where three of my kids have graduated from. I still have a freshman at the school so I thought it would be cool to run a 5K which benefits the school. Actually the race benefits the entire township and not just the high school. The race is scheduled for September 28, 2013, so there’s about a week to prepare. I’m sure I can run strong and finish strong.

I hope that everyone has a great running day! God Bless.

Leave a Reply

