Thursday Morning Miles

Morning running route on September 26, 2013.

Morning running route on September 26, 2013.

When the alarm went off at 4:25 am this morning I was not in favor of getting up. In fact, I hit the snooze button. Five minutes later the alarm went off again. But, instead of hitting the snooze button again I just got out of bed.

I thought I would be sore in the hips and knees and thighs from running 4 miles last night. But surprisingly, I wasn’t. So, once I was wide awake, I thought I could get in at least 3 miles this morning. At least I would get in a run for the day instead of sleeping in.

It was a chilly 47°F when I started the run. This was the coldest morning yet. I’m sure colder mornings are yet to come. Maybe if it gets too cold I’ll go back to Planet Fitness and use their indoor treadmills. But, I like running on the road so I will endure the cold for a while longer.

The run was good. Unlike last night when I felt heavy and bloated this morning I felt light and fluid. Although it doesn’t reflect in my pace, as I was a bit slower this morning than I was last night. My overall time this morning for the 4.31 miles was 42:42 (how often does that happen?) with an average page of 9:54.

I have a 5K race on the schedule for Saturday morning. So, I won’t run on Friday morning. Besides, I have this “thing” scheduled at the hospital on Friday morning. Given that I have to “prep” for this “thing” Thursday night into Friday morning, I don’t think I will be able to run on Friday. I can’t drink any beer or eat solid food in the prep for this “thing” so it will be hard to endure the next 36 hours. I’m not looking forward to this … but I am looking forward to the 5K on Saturday morning.

I wish everyone the best today!

2 thoughts on “Thursday Morning Miles

    • Thanks! I get sort of spooked while running in the dark. I’ve use a headlamp at times but generally just run and hope I don’t trip in a chuckhole or over a stray cat! Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

