Thursday Morning 5 Miles

Running route on Thursday morning 10/03/2013

Running route on Thursday morning 10/03/2013.

I got to bed later than normal last night. My grandfather’s 94th birthday was last night. So, I did not expect to get a run in this morning as I expected to sleep through the alarm. However, I was wide awake at 4:00 am. When the alarm went off at 4:25 am, I decided that I would get up and run even though I was extremely tired.

Yesterday morning I ran 5 miles in 48:52 with an average pace of 9:45. So, with the late night and the fatigue I thought I would just run 3 miles and if I felt ok at the end of 3 miles than maybe I will push out to 4 miles.

When I started to run at 5:00 am, the air temperature was about 67°F and there was some rain. The first half mile was difficult but I got into a groove and just ran. I was totally surprised that the first mile was clocked at 9:38 because I felt like I was running at a 10:00 or slower pace. I finished the second mile at 9:25 which is 14 seconds faster than the first. The third mile was slightly faster at 9:24.

My plan was to finish at least three miles. When I passed three miles and realized my pace was that ‘fast’ (I consider any time below 9:30 as fast for me) I thought I would continue to four miles and stop. But at 3.5 miles I started to feel a fatigue to come on. Even so, I finished the fourth mile at 9:23.

My ego wouldn’t let me finish at 4 miles. I thought I could push on to 4.5 or even 5 miles. So, I thought I would slow down and push through the fatigue and try to ‘train’ my mind to run through the increasing desire to stop and walk. The last mile was the slowest at 9:34.

I finished the 5 miles in 47:36 for an average pace of 9:30 per mile. Wow! Not a bad run considering the late night and the fatigue. And it was slightly faster than yesterday’s 5 mile run.

Usually, the fatigue and the late night would have meant a slower run of fewer miles if I got out of bed to run at all. I’m not sure what happened this morning but I’m grateful for the time and miles. This doesn’t happen too often.

I hope that everyone has a great Thursday!

One thought on “Thursday Morning 5 Miles

Leave a Reply

