Monday Morning 5 MIles

Running route on the morning of October 7, 2013.

Running route on the morning of October 7, 2013.

I was up at 4:30 am this morning to get some miles on the log before I had to go to work. This morning the air temperature was 49°F. The was a stiff wind from the west so it felt even colder. For the first two miles I was chilled but warmed up afterwards. I was wearing shorts and a long sleeve cotton shirt. By coincidence, this past weekend I dug out my winter running clothes from the closet. Maybe I should have worn a heavier shirt on this morning’s run. Other than the wind, the run was great. I was able to get in 5 miles at an overall time of 48:05 for an average pace of 9:36. The second mile was the fastest at 9:33 and the last mile was the slowest at 9:38. I was lucky this morning since it started to rain shortly after I finished the run.

On Saturday, 10/5, I was able to run 6.2 miles around Craig Park in Greenwood, Indiana. It was a great morning for a run, with bright sun and mild temperatures. The weather man said it would start raining about mid morning and rain for most of the day. So, I was on the trail by 8:30 am to get in the run before it started raining. The 6.2 miles took me 1:02:14 to complete for an average pace of 10:01. I had to take a few walking breaks in mile 5 and 6. This is the longest run I’ve done in some time so I wasn’t surprised that I would need to walk. Usually, my pride wouldn’t allow for any walking breaks but I thought I should get used to taking walking breaks since I have the Muncie Mini Marathon in 3 weeks. The training for that race broke down when I had to take a 7 week layoff during the summer. I might as well get used to taking some walking breaks since I know I’ll need to during that race. I haven’t run a mini in years. I signed up for the Muncie race back in early June believing that I had all summer to train. But my plans were interrupted. One of my running goals for 2013 was to run a mini and it’s important to me to go the distance.

I hope that everyone has a great week!

Leave a Reply

