Indiana Trail 100

indianaTrail100_logoI came across this web site for the Indiana Trail 100. It is a 100 mile trail race staged at the Chain O Lakes State Park in northern Indiana. It’s the only 100 mile trail race in the state (so far). It’s scheduled for April 26-27, 2014.

I haven’t signed up for this race. I don’t think I could finish that distance at this stage in my running development. Although I would like to work up to it and do this race one day. For this race, you have 30 hours to complete it. Last year, the first place finisher completed the race in 17 hours and 35 minutes.

I looked at the online registration page to see what the cost is. The cost for the 100 mile race is $180 and the 50 mile race is $95. The minimum age is 18 and the maximum age is 75. Although they allow 15 year olds to run in the 50 mile race.

I’m envious of people who have the drive, determination and endurance to train for and compete in a race of this magnitude. Ultra marathons are a new concept to me and I’ve watched a few you tube videos on the topic. At times, I can hardly drag myself out of bed to run a few miles around the block let alone run 100 miles. But … it’s now a goal … time to get out of bed.

Stay Running!

Leave a Reply

