Cameras and Running

My Fuji XP and Go Pro Hero 3 cameras.

My Fuji XP and Go Pro Hero 3 cameras.

My favorite hobby is photography. I love taking pictures with any kind of camera, whether an Iphone, point & shoot, 35mm film or a DSLR. I own several cameras but my primary camera is a Nikon D-600. I take all the Company’s product photography with that camera and all of my pleasure shooting. It’s a great camera and it’s the absolute best camera for me. It’s way ahead of my old Nikon D-70 and light years ahead of my very old Nikon 6006.

But, if there is anything I have against the D-600 … it is the weight. It weighs a ton (not literally) but it is heavy. I carried it on a 8 mile hike through Brown County State Park and by the time I finished, my neck and shoulders were in pain from the load.

I take the Nikon to every running event but I usually leave it in the car. It’s too heavy to carry and run at the same time. I usually believe that there will be enough time after I finish the event to dash back to the car and grab the camera and dash back to the event to take photos. In the dozen or so running events I’ve done in the last few years, that has happened only once.

I thought about taking my Fuji point and shoot camera on event runs to take photos of the runners and spectators. Even that camera is heavy to hold while running. I’ve never tried it but I’m sure the shutter speed isn’t fast enough in the programmed setting to overcome the natural rhythm of running.

Recently, I came across this web site. The site features photos from a variety of running events. What sets apart this site is that the photos are taken in the midst of the event and not from the side lines. The photographer is running with the other runners and taking photos at the same time. There is a lot of action and movement in the photos.

I’ve always wanted to take photos while running. There is more energy, movement and life to be seen in the midst of the running pack than on the sidelines.

As I was thinking about cameras and running, what came to mind was this small Go Pro Hero camera that I have. I bought it in October 2012 but haven’t really used it for much of anything. I intended to produce all sorts of time-lapse videos (and I did a few that I posted on You Tube here and here). Recently, my son has used it on his RC cars. It’s lightweight and the video quality is excellent.

Maybe I’ll use the Go Pro instead of the Nikon or Fuji.

Someone said that running with a Go Pro camera strapped to your head will make you look foolish and silly, if not outright goofy. Geez. I have enough issues when I run in a staged event. Thoughts like … is my running attire of the latest fashion or do I look silly in these old shorts and shirt, I’m too fat to be a real runner, do I sweat too much … and on and on these thoughts swirl through my head. Now, if I want to time-lapse running events for the fun and novelty of it, I need to add … “and I look silly, foolish and goofy because I have a Go Pro camera strapped to my head”.

I’ve seen all sorts of uncommon fashion and gear at running events. Although I’ve never seen a Go Pro on someone’s head, I’ve seen people walking in full fire fighting gear (complete with O2 mask), people carrying flags on poles, people running in their underwear, people running in skirts and dresses with make-up, in wild costumes, wild hats and wild hair. I’ve read about people juggling while running a marathon and running backwards. Why would a Go Pro camera be such a foolish thing?

I’m sure that no one would give it a second thought.

So maybe I’ll chase down my son’s RC car and dig out the Go Pro and run with it at my next running event!

Stay tuned.

P.S. In my post about running across Golden Gate Bridge and how I would like to do that on my next vacation (whenever that may be) … well, here’s a Go Pro video from a runner who did it!

Leave a Reply

