Answers : How Was My 2013 Running Year?

Running coach and author Miss Zippy has encouraged all runners to evaluate their 2013 Running Year. You can read her blog post here. So … here’s my evaluation of my 2013 running year.

Best Race : Planet Adventure’s Winter Trail Marathon. This race came in January and even though I raced in other events, this one is my best race for 2013.  I only ran in the Quarter marathon but it was a fantastic time. The race was staged at night and it was my first trail running experience. To add more excitement, it snowed the day before so there was about 3 inches of slippery snow and ice on the trail. There were about 400 runners with head lamps and reflective gear running in the dark over snow-covered trails. What a sight … so very cool!

Best Run : The Windmill Run. I ran 5 miles on country roads through a windmill farm in north central Indiana. It was a breath-taking experience to run underneath these huge windmills.

Best New Gear : The Go Pro Hero 3. I love the extreme wide-angle of this camera and the fact that it’s small enough to attach to a head strap and record the sights and sounds of a run. I posted my first 90 second running video here.

Best Piece of  Running Advice You Received : “Just Finish”. I know this is simple and we hear it all the time … but sometimes my ego gets too big to hear it. Too often I’m more concerned with how I measure up that I forget that finishing is most important. When I ran in the Muncie Mini Marathon (October ’13) I had not trained enough and I knew my finish time would be about 3 hours, which really depressed me (my half marathon average is 2:10). I thought about not showing up for the race but someone told me to show up and just finish the race regardless of the time. It was my absolute worst half marathon performance at 2:41 but it was a great run and great event. So very happy that I took the advice and showed up and finished.

Most Inspirational Runner : The Thin Lady Inside. She’s running, shares her struggles and stays the course. Ever since I came across her blog I’ve been inspired.

If you could sum up your year in a couple of words, what would they be? Mixed. I wish 2013 was a better year for me. I had that heart issue in July and August and couldn’t run and lost two months of running. My domestic life is in a tail spin so I was too depressed to even get out of bed at times. The really only success I have during the year was I lost weight and reached my goal weight. But, I quickly lost focus and regained much of that weight back. It was a mixed year and I’m looking forward to 2014.

Onward … !

Leave a Reply

