Hello 2014!

I am glad to see 2013 end. It was not my best year. Even so, I’m happy for a fresh start in 2014. Maybe 2014 will be a great year. So, this is the time of year where it’s expected to set new goals and resolutions for the next year. So here goes …

I started 2013 on a roll with a weight loss/calorie counting effort and eventually got down to a goal weight of 155 pounds. But, shortly afterwards I fell off the wagon and lost my focus and by the end of the year I had regained much of the weight. Geez. How hopeless.

My domestic life has taken a tailspin that I’m not sure how to come out of. Not that the details are necessary but I can say that I need to redefine my vision and expectation of marriage (again). This item has been the hardest to deal with and I deal with it by drinking too much beer! Maybe I’ll blog more about it later.

I lost about two months of running time in July and August because I was having chest pains and couldn’t breathe. After several trips to the hospital and doctor offices and several thousands of dollars later … they don’t know what happened to me.

The Positive Highlights of 2013 are :

  • I finished a half marathon. It wasn’t a great finish at 2:40 but at least I limped along and finished!
  • My son graduated from college.
  • My daughter graduated from high school.

So, what’s in store for 2014?

Of course, I want to lose weight. I always want to lose weight and control my eating. I know I can do it as I’ve proven it many times in the past. This time, I want to CHANGE what happens after I achieve a goal weight and maintain the weight loss instead of regaining it again.

I plan on running and racing more … or at least showing up for a “race” and participating. I’m not a bona fide contender. I’m a mid-to-back runner. I just enjoy being involved although I’m always run solo as I don’t have any family or friends who enjoy running as I do. Running is my one true athletic passion.

I plan on being more creative (again). If there is any highlight of 2013 is that I finally broke out of this artist funk that’s held me captive for years. I decided to stop listening to the voices in my head that said I couldn’t draw or paint good enough to be worth the effort to draw or paint. So, I said “screw you” (forgive my language) to those voices and bought paint and canvas and painted my first abstract drip painting. I’ve finished about a dozen paintings in 2013 and I plan to continue in 2014. In addition, I would like to develop my skill at short story writing. Believe it or not, way back in high school (late 70’s) I wanted to be a novelist. I would like to rediscover that passion.

So, here are my goals in 2014 …

  • lose weight keep it off so that on December 31, 2014 I weigh in at 155.
  • continue to run and exercise … run at least 4-6 times a week and race at least once a month. At least two mini Marathons in 2014.
  • continue to be creative … with my abstract drip paintings but also write at least one short story.

There are other things that I would like to do in 2014 related to my three resolutions. For example, I’m trying to plan a trip to the Rocky Mountain National Park to climb Long’s Peak. To do that adventure, I really need to lose some weight and get into better shape. And, if I can pull off that adventure, it will be my first time to climb a Colorado 14er. I would like to run across the Golden Gate Bridge too.

I also would like to develop my “professional” skill set and learn the jQuery and JavaScript languages. Believe it or not, maintaining a skill set in front-end and back-end web development is hard work. I’m a 50-year-old developer and there are thousands of young graduates that would love to over take me. So, I need to work hard to stay ahead or stay with the curve. Otherwise, I’ll be left in their dust on the side of the road.

So, that’s it for me and my review of 2013 and outlook for 2014. I hope that everyone has a great end to 2013 and a fresh start to 2014. God Bless and stay running.

7 thoughts on “Hello 2014!

  1. I will also continue to work on the weight loss thing. I’m not proud of my backslide the past month or so. I also want to make a valiant effort at being healthy and fit…and running is included in that plan.

      • This week is too cold out, and with ice covered ground, I’m not sure I’ll get out much until spring. It all depends on the weather…I’m hoping some warmer weather so I can get outside. If not, I’ll have to be creative and find ways to improve my fitness inside…then when I CAN get outside in the spring, it’ll be much easier!

Leave a Reply

