Saturday … Saturday

So … I was able to get to Planet Fitness this morning. Thankfully the car started.

Yesterday morning, when it was about 3°F outside, the car didn’t start and I had to call for a ride just to get to work. I was certain it was the battery as it’s been about 5 years since I’ve replace it. Later than evening, when it warmed up to about 20°F, I was able to take out the old battery, find another ride to the auto parts store, buy a new battery and then install it. And … it worked. The little 2000 Honda Civic started on the first crank. I’m not a mechanic by any means so when I can do something successful to the car (other than filling up the gas tank) it’s been a great day!

Thankfully little red Honda started on the first crank this morning! It was about 14°F. Yay. So I found myself at Planet Fitness about 8:15 am to work out on the treadmill. I put in 5 miles (about 700 calories burned) and lifted a little weight afterwards and called it a successful workout. It’s been a long time since I put in 5 miles on a treadmill and it was a refreshing run. Although I would rather be running outside there is just too much snow and ice on the streets to safely run outside today.

I’m sure that I’ll be using the Planet Fitness facility in the next few days. The weather man is calling for sub-zero “high” temperatures and dangerous wind chills. In that regard, I’m bless that the old battery bit the dust before this winter storm hits. Now I have a fresh new battery. And, don’t forget the 8-13 inches of fresh snow he says will blanket the area in the next day! Sub-zero temperatures and a foot of snow … what a great winter!

This is the fourth day of my 2014 Restart and I’ve been faithful to the program, counting the calories and staying on the exercise. And, best of all, I haven’t had a beer (even though I want one or two or three or more). I remind myself that this month is “No Beer January” and since I’ve told several people at the office and the blogging world, I really need be faithful and stay away from the beer. So far … so good.

I hope everyone has a great weekend. Stay warm!

Leave a Reply

