A New Painting

I missed out on the 2014 Mini Marathon and feeling the deep emotional pain from that. I feel so much like a loser for not overcoming my physical and psychological pain to at least participate. But, hopefully, the rest of this year will be better for me, at least in the running department. Instead of running, I spent this weekend working around the house, in the yard doing the normal yard work (mulching, fertilizing, trimming … the normal yard work) … and trying to keep my mind off of failing to participate in the Mini Marathon and the other stuff that is going on in my life right now.

Kara … the lady who ran in the Mini under my bib number … did exceptionally well. God bless her and her ambition and desire … something that I really need to get a hold of in my   life right now. She’s a symbol for me in more ways than she would know. I wish her the absolute best in everything she desires.

Even though I didn’t run this weekend … I did think about it and hopefully I will put in a few miles this week. This afternoon, I saw an older man running through my neighborhood. I watched him as he ran by and I wished him the best. I was somewhat jealous of his effort. Actually, I was totally jealous of his effort.

I did find a connection when that old man as he was running by. As I was watching him somehow I stumbled over the overloaded wheel barrow I was pushing. It was full of mulch and in my stumble I banged the shin of my left leg just above that nasty stress fracture. Instantly I thought of how I have waited for over six weeks for the stress fracture to heal and now I’m sidelined again with a bruised shin from an overloaded wheel barrow of mulch. There is a now a huge lump on my shin. Geez.

Even though I failed to run this weekend … I was able to do something of significance (at least significant to me)  … I completed a painting that I’ve been working on for a few weeks.

I know that abstract expressionism is a bit outdated … but it is a genre of painting that I relate to. The chaos of splattered and thrown paint resonates with my psyche.

Anyways, here are some bad photos of my latest painting. I call it “Losing Shannon”.

I wish the iPhone would take better photos as these photos are somewhat out of focus.

Anyways … Onward …

photo-6 photo-5

4 thoughts on “A New Painting

  1. Hello Dave, this is Katie from Slow Habits. I have been reading your blog, and really feeling for you. I have also been admiring your art. I have signed up to follow you, and I don’t know if it is any help, but there is someone in New Zealand cheering for you every step of the way. I also have been too heavy (110 kg) and my life has had some seriously bad moments over the last 3 years….like 14,000 earthquakes for starters…..But as well as post traumatic stress, there is post traumatic growth, and that is what I am holding onto. What are you holding onto?
    Your art is great. I love the painting you have just done. You love to run…how long before you can start again? Can you walk yet? How far/long? You must be coming into summer in your part of the world, can you get out every day yet? And you are a writer too. How cool is that? You have so much going for you. Take heart. You can do it.

    Katie.

    • Hi Katie … thank you for the encouragement! A friend of mine went to New Zealand for vacation and he didn’t want to come back. “Beautiful country” he said. I would love to visit one day. I’m going to try to run very soon. I have this Couch to 5K app on my phone that I believe I will use to get back into habit of running. I really miss it. I like what you said about post traumatic growth. I really need to stop feeling sorry for myself and just accept what’s happen and move on. Sometimes I can do that but other times I really get stuck in the mud. Thank you again for the encouragement !! God Bless !!

  2. I am sorry for everything that might be going wrong for you lately… I don’t know the details but I do know God is good and only with Him, in you…. and Him… through you… these mountains will move! You are more than a conqueror! You are not a loser…. Trust Him and remember you’re a mighty warrior… would you please read Gideon’s story this week? 🙂 Prayers for you!

    • Hi Thin Lady Inside … it’s so very great to hear from you. Thank you for your prayers and support. I do believe the Lord is near. I got a blog post ready to publish that gives some details of what I’ve been dealing with but having a hard time writing and rewriting it. I pray the best for you and your family !! God Bless.

Leave a Reply

