Starting The Couch to 5K Program (Again)

Believe it or not …. I dragged myself out of bed at 4:30 am this morning and rummaged around for my running shoes, checked the weather, found the C25K app on the iPhone and … and … and actually went outside for a run.

It has been over seven weeks since the last time I ran.

I believe the stress fracture has finally healed. At least there is no pain in my left shin any more. So, I believe it is safe to risk going out for a run.

I decided to start the C25k (Couch to 5K) program again. The 8 week program starts with a little running and a lot of walking in the first few weeks to build stamina and in the later weeks you find yourself running for almost 30 minutes. In my youth I would have just ran a 5K to impress my ego and prove I still had fitness after a 7 week layoff. In my old age, I am no longer in a hurry and don’t mind taking two months to rebuild my fitness. Ego, or no ego, I would rather run a little instead of being sidelined for another 7 weeks with another stress fracture.

Today, I ran 5 sets of running for 45 seconds, walking for 90 seconds, running for another 45 seconds and then walking for 60 seconds. I covered less than 2 miles in the 29 minutes it took to complete Week 1 Day 1 of the program.

There was a little pain in my left shin after I walked home. Hopefully I’m not re-stressing the stress fracture. I can’t tell if it is just discomfort from moving my body or real pain.

Anyways … hope everyone has a great day and a great run. Onwards.

2 thoughts on “Starting The Couch to 5K Program (Again)

  1. Listen to your body…if the shin pain gets worse, don’t be afraid to take a break for a few days. Like you said, it’s better to go slow than injure yourself and lose 2 months.

    I should really look at the C25k program again. When I tried before, my foot was really bothering me. Perhaps it’ll be okay now.

    • Thank you. It’s only been a couple of hours since I made my early morning run … and now my right shin is hurting … what gives!? First it’s the left shin and now it’s the right shin. Hopefully it is something very minor or maybe it is a phantom pain … maybe … hopefully. But, listening I am!

      I hope the best for you … let me know if you give the C25K program another try.

Leave a Reply

