Starting Week 3

c25k_week3_day1.pngI started Week 3 of the C25K program. The program called for 2 minutes of running and then walking for 2 minutes and then running for 3 minutes and then walking for 2 minutes. And, repeat twice. So, in this session, I ran for a total of 10 minutes (2 sets of 5 minutes each). I ran 1.82 miles at a 14:17 pace.

During the 26 minute session (yes … the App tells you how long you will exercise for the session – kind of cool) I never felt like it was “too” difficult, thankfully. Although I was happy to finish. I know that this is just one more step toward recovering my fitness. At one point, I would have thought that 10 minutes of running isn’t worth the effort. Now, I know better than to think like that. 10 minutes of running is worth every ounce of effort.

I may repeat this session tomorrow. When I had my fitness and when I was running a lot, Saturday mornings were reserved for the ‘long run’, where I would run 8 – 12 miles. Now, I will be satisfied and grateful with a 10 minute ‘long’ run and look forward to the day when I can again do 8 – 12 on a Saturday morning.

One thought on “Starting Week 3

  1. Good for you, you’re making great progress! After more than a week, I can probably get back to it tonight. I’ll be repeating Week 3 Day 3 since it’s been so long, and see how that feels before I move on to Week 4.

Leave a Reply

