Have I Finished the C25K?

photoI don’t know if I’ve completed the program. I have worked through all the running sessions, from Week 1 to Week 8, in order.  I ran through the last session of Week 8 where you run for 30 minutes straight without stopping. I was able to do that but it was an awful experience. It was hot and humid and I was tired. It was not a very comfortable run. Plus, my neighbor chained up his pet pit bull outside and so that scary dog rushed me and barked at me the three times I ran past that house. So it wasn’t one of my better runs.

The screenshot says that I ran 3.43 miles at a 11:39 pace. But, that distance includes 10 minutes of walking. So don’t believe I ran 3.1 miles. I believe I was close. Running for 30 minutes at a pace of 11:39 doesn’t cover a 5K.

But, at least I ran for 30 minutes without walking. Yay! When I started the program back in early June, I could hardly run the 90 second intervals and wondered if I would ever have the capacity to run a 5K at the end of the 8 week program. I had to repeat several weeks because I wasn’t able to keep up. So, what should have taken 8 weeks has taken me over 10 weeks.

That is … if I really completed the program.

How will I finally know if I have completed the program? I’ll know when I run in a sponsored 5K event. When I can run the 5K course and not stop, and it be an enjoyable run for me, then I will believe for myself that I actually completed the program.

Until then, I will continue to run and repeat Week 8 until I register for a local 5K event. I really need more ‘practice’ and really need to increase my fitness until then anyways. And, cutting back on the beer could help too.

 

2 thoughts on “Have I Finished the C25K?

  1. You have indeed completed the program. Well done! Keep up that regular running base and you will do great when you sign up for a 5k. It took me a long time to be able to run a 5k in 30 minutes, everyone is different.

Leave a Reply

