It’s Been a While

It’s been a while since I’ve looked at my blog. It’s been a while for a lot of things.

I never wanted the blog to be a dumping ground for my self-pity … but that is essentially where I’ve been for almost a year … in a cauldron of bubbling crude of self-pity.

July 1st will celebrate Nikki’s departure from the house into her own apartment. It’s hard to believe it’s been a year. I wish I could say that I accomplished glory and grandeur in that year … that I’ve moved on to better and other things … but I haven’t. Other than starting (and not finishing) a few DIY projects, the last year has seen a lack of exercise, weight gain, too much beer drinking, no creativity, depression and deep self-pity.

Nikki has gone on to another relationship and seems happy. I’m thankful we still talk and text when we can. I’m thankful her new significant other cares deeply for her in ways I couldn’t.

I spent time last week driving to and from Colorado. Stayed in Vail and day hiked around the valley. Even drove to Aspen for an afternoon. I wanted it to be a week of meditation, reflection on my past and future.

The hiking was great! Absolutely wonderful. Although it was extremely strenuous at most … maybe most of the time. I know that altitude play a part, but I believe my overall lack of fitness played a larger part.

I thought maybe the solo hiking and driving would give me an epiphany. However, I didn’t have one. Unless you count the realization that a lack of exercise and profound overeating and drinking have resulted in a degraded fitness level that has spread into other areas of life.

But I already knew that.

I’m working out a plan that should bring my eating and drinking in control and better my fitness. The plan isn’t rocket science. Eat less, drink less, exercise more.

So simple. Yet, so hard.

This was the southern view from the Whitney Lake Trail in the Holy Cross Wilderness on June 16, 2015.

This was the southern view from the Whitney Lake Trail in the Holy Cross Wilderness on June 16, 2015.

 

2 thoughts on “It’s Been a While

  1. Your life sounds similar to mine. Too much eating, too much drinking and not nearly enough exercise. I am going through a divorce, so I can relate there as well. I, however, am the one who left. Getting things final is tough, to put it lightly, but I am happier than I have ever been!

    • Hi Teresa … I’m sorry to hear about your divorce. It’s hard … very hard to finalize things. But I’m glad to hear that you are happy and looking forward to your future. Even though Nikki moved out on July 1, our divorce wasn’t final until September 19, 2014. It took a while to work through the lawyers and the courts. I’m wishing the best for you !!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

