First Run of the New Effort

Brooks Addiction 11

Blurry photo of my new Brooks Addiction 11, size 9.5 running shoes on my overweight fat ankles and feet.

Yay !! My new running shoes arrived. Brooks Addiction 11, size 9.5. I vowed that when the new running shoes are delivered I will immediately hit the road.

And that is what I did.

Since this was my first fun in a very long time, I thought I would take it slow and easy. I didn’t realize how hard slow and easy would be. I followed the first workout of the first week of the C25K program. It was harder than I envisioned.

The 45 extra pounds that I’m carrying doesn’t help. I really need to lose those pounds. I don’t know how much of those 45 pounds are beer calories but I’m certain it’s a large percentage. I could feel those calories slosh around in my fat cells.

It will take some time. Two months at least as I follow the C25K program. So, hopefully, by the end of August I will be trained for a 5k. And that is good. Since I would like to run in the Greenwood Indiana Trail Trek 5K on September 12, 2015.

I bought the new running shoes from RunningShoes.com. I was too lazy to go to the near by running store. I wasn’t too thrilled with the way the package arrived. It was just the crushed shoe box loosely shrink wrapped. It did not include a note of thanks for buying from RunningShoes.com. I would have heard a “thank you” from the local running store. And the shoes felt used. I checked the soles and they looked and felt new but the uppers felt soft and used. At least they gave me free shipping.

After the 29 minute work out where I ran for a total of 7.5 minutes (alternating between a 45 second run, then a 90 second walk, then a 45 second run and then a 60 second walk repeating 5 times with a 5 minute warm up walk and a 5 minute cool down walk), I ran out (actually drove the car) to pick up a new pair of head phones. The old pair wouldn’t stay in my ears.

Hopefully I’m on the right track. A fresh start. A new effort.

 

Leave a Reply

