Cross Training and Improved Blood Pressure

I tried to cross train last night. It was very pretty or effective.

I bought this Bowflex Max trainer back in September 2014. At the time, I wanted something different and it seemed like the thing to buy. I used it on a steady basis until early March 2015 when I caught the flu. After the flu, I just never returned to it.

Now that I’m back on track with the C25K program and I’m losing some weight and trying to eat better, I decided to get back on the Bowflex trainer for some serious cross training.

The Bowflex is a stair-stepper-elliptical hybrid machine. And it’s very effective at increasing the heart rate rapidly. I had to dust off the trainer before I stepped onto it. I could only go for 15 minutes at a very very slow pace. Before I quit using the Bowflex I was racing through some of the hardest preprogrammed workouts. Now, I could hardly get up to any kind of speed or resistance.

I was not surprised. I know that I lost most of my fitness while I laid off all those months. But, at least I’m on the right track now.

And speaking of the right track …

My last doctor’s appointment did not go well for me. The Doctor (kind of) scolded me on my major weight gain and blood pressure (way too high). She explained (sternly) that I was maxed out on my medication and if my blood pressure wasn’t coming down by the next appointment she will change medications. It took a while to ‘find’ the right medication without complicating side effects so I wouldn’t look forward to changing medication. She also said I need to lose weight to get to ‘normal’ BMI. Normal BMI is 155 pounds for me. So, I need to lose over 40 pounds. She also “suggested” that I keep my salt intake to under 1,500 mg a day. I had no idea what my salt intake was because I never looked at food labels. She also calculated that I was consuming an extra 800-1,200 calories a day with all the beer that I was drinking.

I understood what she was saying and I know she cares for me. But I didn’t carry out her advice right away. About two months later I went to Colorado. I had such a hard time hiking some of the trails because of my lack of fitness. I knew I had to do something to get back in shape. I vowed that next year when I return to Colorado I will be in much better shape.

So, for the last two weeks I’ve been exercising more and watching my salt intake (I do look at food labels now) and trying to limit and control what I eat and drink. I took my blood pressure this morning. 119 over 79! Yay. I haven’t seen numbers like that in a very long time. Maybe I’m doing something right by following the Doctor’s advice!

Blood Pressure on July 8, 2015 at 6:53 am.

Blood Pressure on July 8, 2015 at 6:52 am.

Leave a Reply

