Started C25K Week 5

I can’t believe it’s been a month since I started this weight loss effort and the C25K. I’m feeling good and still motivated.

It also means it’s been a month since I’ve been back from the Colorado 2015 adventure, which has become the impetus for the weight loss effort and the C25K. I plan to return to Colorado in 2016 and I don’t want to be fat and overweight and so out of shape when I try to hike the Colorado trails.

Week 5 starts off with a 17 minute run, broken into 5 – 7 – 5 minute intervals with 2 minute walking breaks between each interval. It is a step up from the 12 minute total run from the last day of Week 4.

I wasn’t certain that I would make it through the second 5 minute run … but I did. Thankfully.

Actually, even with the extra 5 minutes, the workout was relaxing. It wasn’t my best day at the office and I was a little depressed about my son’s birthday (he’s 24). His birthday, as any of my kids’ birthdays, reminds me that I’m getting older. The workout relaxed me and gave me a feeling that I was working toward a goal and not just wasting any more time.

I’ve also been looking at the racing calendar from the Indy Runners Club. I won’t be ready for an official 5K until mid to late August. Even so, I’m looking forward to participating in a local 5K and so looking at the calendar.

Sign post at mile twelve on the Gore Valley Trail, Vail Colorado.

Sign post at mile twelve on the Gore Valley Trail, Vail Colorado.

 

Leave a Reply

