Saturday Morning “Long” Run

Ah … Saturday morning.

In the past, when I was a consistent runner, Saturday mornings were reserved for the “long” run. The long run was considerably longer (duh … long run) than usual week day mileage. And if I was “in training” for an event, the long run was whatever the training schedule called for.

However, since I am working through the C25K program, the Saturday long run is really nothing more that whatever the program calls for. So, there’s not really a Saturday long run during the C25K program.

I really miss the Saturday long run. So, this morning, after I completed Week 5 Day 3 of the C25K program, I decided to see if I could run a full mile without stopping.

This morning, the C25K program called for a total of 18 minutes of running with an 8 minute and 10 minute interval with 12 minutes of walking for a total of 30 minutes. I ran kind of slower this session at a 12:16 pace for the 2.45 miles. Although, it was a very comfortable run.

So, after I completed the C25K session, I continued running for a complete mile without stopping! Yay. A Saturday long run.

When I was a consistent running, my Saturday morning long runs were usually 10 miles. I hope to get back to that mileage … but for right now, I’m happy with a 1 mile Saturday long run.

Here’s a photo I took at Spring Mill State Park (Indiana) on July 3, 2015. Trail 2 was a .5 mile connecting the Nature Center to the Pioneer Village.

Trail Sign

Trail Sign … on trail 2

2 thoughts on “Saturday Morning “Long” Run

Leave a Reply

