Starting Week 7

It’s amazing how quickly things progress.

Six weeks ago I was unable to run 60 seconds without falling over gasping for breath. Six weeks later I’m able to run 20 minutes without stopping to gasp for breath, although there was heavy breathing.

To yesterday where I started the seventh week of the C25K program. I just find it simply amazing how a little effort (and desire and motivation mixed in) can do things, maybe even turn around a life.

Day one of the seventh week started with a 5 minute walking warmup and 20 minutes of running intervals of 15 and 5 minutes with a two-minute walking breaking in-between and 5 minutes walking to cool down. My mileage was 2.72 and my pace was 11:46.

Not too bad. The evening was hot at 86°F. Thankfully the humidity was lower than normal.

At one point in the run I came upon a kid walking a dog. Somehow the dog slipped out of its collar and ran toward me. It was a pit pull and I immediately stopped and stood still wondering if it would tear off an arm or a leg. But, instead, it wagged its little tail and wanted some affection. Cutest little thing. The dog’s name was Fad.

There’s another pit pull in the neighborhood. I don’t know the name of this dog. This one is larger, much larger. When I’ve run by this house the dog is tied up with a wire cable. It’s loud and obnoxious and aggressively barks and runs after me until the cable chokes it back. If it ever got loose I’m sure it would tear off an arm or a leg.

After the workout I decided to add a little extra and ran a quarter-mile. Is was icing on the cake, so to speak, of a great C25K session!

Not that it related to my encounter with the pit bulls, but I saw this golden retriever at a recent Fountain Square Art Festival. Golden’s are one of the best dog breeds!

I saw this golden retriever at a recent Fountain Square Art Festival.

I saw this golden retriever at a recent Fountain Square Art Festival.

 

One thought on “Starting Week 7

Leave a Reply

