Week 8 Day 3

Yay! Finished Week 8 Day 3 of the C25K program and thus finished the entire program.

The last session called 30 minutes of running without stopping. There was a 5 minute walking warm up and a 5 minute walking cool down. I was able to run the entire 30 minutes without much, if any, difficulty. I waited until later in the evening to do the run, after I finished cutting and trimming the yard. So, it was after 8:30pm when I started. By that time, the temperature had fallen a bit and the humidity was lower. It was a great run and by far the best of the program.

I started the C25K program on June 25. On that day my mileage was 1.87 and the pace was 15:39. Yesterday, on August 13, the last day of the program, my mileage was 3.47 and the pace was 11:33. Even though the total mileage was 3.47 I don’t believe that I ran a full 5K as there was 10 minutes of walking in the total mileage.

Hopefully, on Saturday morning, I will be able to run an honest 5K. My ‘comeback’ 5K will be on September 13 at the Greenwood Trail Trek 5K. If I continue running 3-4 days a week for the next 4 weeks, at least 30 minutes each time, if not more, then I’m sure my comeback will be successful.

I am developing a running bucket list of events and mileage that I would like to do. Sooner or later I will post it. But, for now, I would like to maintain my 5K fitness and eventually work up to a 10K and the mini distance. If everything aligns I would like to maintain the ability to run a 10 mile run each week.

So, it took 7 weeks to complete the program. Just a week under the normal duration. When I started I felt there was no way I could run a quarter-mile let alone 3.1 miles. Thankfully, I was able to endure even when I wanted to give up. Yay!

 

Leave a Reply

