What Have I Been Doing?

Nothing much.

It’s been 7 days since the ladder slipped out from under me and I fell the three feet hitting the edge of the deck causing major trauma to the left side of my back.

Thankfully, I didn’t break any ribs in the fall. But, oh my, the pain … the pain. It’s almost unbearable at times. I was laid out for four days. Two weekend days and two work days. I finally felt better to make it to work on Wednesday (8/19).

In my injury I have neglected my yard … so … last night I cut it. I push mowed it, the entire yard. On any normal day it would take about an hour to cut the yard. Last night, it took over 90 minutes. I had to stop every so often just to catch my breath. Taking a deep breath expands the injured area causing ripples of pain.

I’m really sore today. Probably should have just hired the neighbor’s kid to cut it.

I don’t think I can go running anything soon. The Immediate Care doctor said it would be 2 – 3 weeks before I could run. I believed that I could get back out in one week. At least my ego was saying that. But, last night’s yard cutting episode convinced me that the reality will probably be 2 – 3 weeks. Even though I can feel improvement in my recovery it will probably best to let the injury completely heal before I try to run. Bummer. I was doing so well in the C25K program and looking forward to running an official 5k.

So, I guess I am doing something … waiting !!

 

2 thoughts on “What Have I Been Doing?

  1. I know a lot of people dislike this word, but patience! My boyfriend broke 7 ribs in May…he still has a little bit of pain although it’s MUCH better than it was in the beginning. I completely understand what you’re going through. Hang in there and let your body heal!

    • I probably would heal faster if my ego wouldn’t get in the way. I can’t sit still too long and tend to overdo things when I am injured. I can’t image the pain your boyfriend was in … 7 ribs … mega ouch!

Leave a Reply

