Starting Again

So … I got up this morning at 5:00 am and ran through the Week One Day One of the C25K program.  The total distance was 1.77 miles at a 16:34 pace. Certainly slower than I was in late June when I originally started the program. But at least it is a start … again.

Why am I restarting the C25K program when I just finished the program last month? The answer is due to the rib injury of August. It’s taken about 4-5 weeks to get to the point where I feel like a normal person again.

And, I’m just now able to run again. Although not as fast or as long as I could before. There is still some pain when I breathe deep and heavy. The pain is fading with each day but not enough to allow me to run faster or longer. And, I have lost some fitness. I haven’t run or really exercised much at all in the last five weeks.

So, restarting the C25k program is the most logical choice. Although my ego doesn’t believe so. It would rather just pick up where I left off in early August. However, the logical mind would rather start slow again to avoid any new injury which would sideline me again. I know I can probably progress through the program faster than the suggested eight weeks. But, I’ll see what I can do and where I can go from here.

 

Leave a Reply

