Week 6 Day 2

So … my first run in ten days … geez … will I ever be consistent?

I did have an honest excuse. I had the flu. It started coming on late Monday (10/19) and lingered for about four days. I had to take a day from work because it was so intense. Then, it morphed into a head cold, where my sinuses were packed full of snot I could hardly breathe.

Thankfully, the head cold faded too and I finally felt energetic enough to try a run last night. So, I decided to pick up where I left off and hit Week 6 Day 2 of the C25K program.

I used the hour or so of cloudy fading daylight to mulch some leaves in the yard. It was a good warm up to the run. It was cold and windy. I wore traditional sweat pants and a sweat shirt. I may need to update my running attire if I’m going to run in the cold weather now.

The program called for 5 minute warm up walk followed by a 10 minute run and then a 1 minute walk and then a 5 minute cool down.

My pace was 11:59 per mile and the total distance was 2.42 miles. It was a 29 minute exercise session. I suppose the pace wasn’t too bad. A 12:00 pace is a 5:16:49 marathon finish. Check out this ultra cool marathon pace chart. It’s not a Boston qualifying time but at least it is below the 6 hour average cut off time for most marathons. There is no way I could make the 26.2 miles of a marathon right now, at this moment in my fitness and training … but … maybe one day … maybe sooner than later!

Here’s a photo from my recent hike in McCormick’s Creek State Park, near Spencer Indiana. Photo taken on October 26, 2015.

Trail #2 in McCormick's Creek State Park near Spencer Indiana. Photo take October 26, 2015.

Trail #2 in McCormick’s Creek State Park near Spencer Indiana. Photo take October 26, 2015.

Leave a Reply

