Week Seven Day One

Started Week Seven of the C25K program. The session called for running 15 minutes with a 2 minute walk and then a 5 minute run. Of course, there is a 5 minute walking warm up and a 5 minute walking cooled down at the start and finish. Although I elected to run the 5 minute cool down. The intended session required only 20 minutes of running but I squeezed by with 25 minutes of running.

I felt tired and sluggish last night during the run. My pace was 11:50 and the total mileage was 2.71. If this was a marathon, an 11:50 pace gives me an 5:10:16 finish.

I also added a new task in my pre running warm up. I decided to do at least 10 push ups during my stretching routine. Hopefully, as time progresses, I will be able to do more push ups. My upper body strength is pitiful and lacking and maybe the push ups will help. My goal is to accumulate a thousand push ups in the near future. I’m also thinking about including some sort of abdominal routine to the warm up to help develop my six-pack, if it ever shows up!

It was completely and totally dark last night while running. The air temperature was somewhat chilly. I need to get a head lamp or something to at least light my way. It’s just so dark to see in some places. I’m afraid that I may twist an ankle on the uneven road surface.

If everything goes well, I should be able to run the entire 5K of the Turkey Trot race on Thanksgiving day. I signed up for the race last night. The race is staged in New Castle, Indiana. So, it’s about an hour drive from the house. I don’t have any morning plans on Thanksgiving so this will give me something to do.

Leave a Reply

