A Run and A New Race

Yesterday evening was a pleasant and warm. Although it had rain for most of the afternoon, by the time I got home from work the rain had stopped. It was warm. I would say in the mid 60’s. Quite warm for mid November.

So, I decided to take advantage of the nice pleasant weather and get in a run.

I didn’t run through the final day of the C25K program. Rather, I just ran a simple 5K. Maybe just to see if I could do it. Maybe because I don’t want to finish the C25K because I’m timid about what comes next.

I was somewhat tired before I started the run. I probably didn’t warm up enough before I started. My total time for the 3.13 miles was 32:38 for a 10:25 pace, according the Nike+ app. My spilt times were 10:23, 10:30 and 10:25. I guess it’s not too bad. And, most likely, this 10:25 average pace is my ‘official’ starter pace. From here, I can only improve. I would like to break the 30 minute mark on a 5K, which would have a 9:39 pace, which is almost 50 seconds faster per mile than what I’m running now. Yay!

Logo for the New Castle Mini Marathon. This is from 2014.

Logo for the New Castle Mini Marathon. This is from 2014.

In other news, I registered for a new race … the New Castle Mini Marathon. It’s on June 18, 2016 in New Castle Indiana. The cost of the event was $44 with a $4.22 service charge. That’s $3.37 a mile. Not too bad.

It’s a small event. I couldn’t find 2015 results for the event. But in 2014, there were 70 runners in the mini marathon. The average pace 2:06:53. The last runner came in at 3:30:29 and the first runner finished in 1:28:19. I’ll probably be toward the back of the pack.

So … I have two mini marathons on the schedule for 2016. Yay!

Leave a Reply

