Three Runs

Friday December 11, 2016.

This was to be my long run for the week. So, I managed to get in 5 miles straight and then did three sets of walk-run intervals. My total time was 1:13:51 for an average pace of 10:31.

  • Mile 1 : 9:46
  • Mile 2 : 9:45
  • Mile 3 : 9:38
  • Mile 4 : 10:11
  • Mile 5 : 10:01
  • Mile 6 : 12:18
  • Mile 7 : 11:54

As you can tell, I was pretty fast (at least for me) in the first three miles and then started to slow in mile 4 and 5. The walking intervals added time to my pace for the 6th and 7th miles. Overall, it was a great run.

After the run, my ex-wife stopped by to pick up some furniture she had kept at the house. I helped her load the Uhaul and then went to their house to help unload. I was wiped out by the time everything was over.

Sunday, December 13.

It was incredibly warm for mid December. So, I took advantage of the day light and the warmth and went out for a few miles. I ran three miles straight without stopping and then added 3 sets of the walk-run intervals. The total distance was 4.89 miles at a total time of 50:37 for an average pace of 10:20.

  • Mile 1 : 9:54
  • Mile 2 : 9:45
  • Mile 3 : 9:52
  • Mile 4 : 11:12

I felt like I could stay outside for the entire day to enjoy the mid December warmth and keep on the walk-run intervals. But I had to stop my exercise to work on other obligations. Later that evening I went over to Nikki and Joi’s house to help paint.

Monday, December 14.

I left work at 3:20pm for a doctor’s appointment. She was happy with my progress at running and exercise and losing weight. My blood pressure was normal (about 115/75), which is not the ‘normal’ for me until I started to run and lose weight. A year ago, my blood pressure was about 150/110 and the Doctor was very ‘concerned’. Once I started running and exercising and reducing my calories, the blood pressure started to come down.  I was home by 4:45 (I usually don’t get home until 5:45 on most work days). I thought I would take advantage of the remaining day light and get in a run. The weather man said it would rain later in the evening and I also wanted to beat the rain.

I ran 4.16 miles in 42.02 for an average page of 10:05. I ran straight, no walking. However, I couldn’t break below 10 minute miles on the average for some reason. Although I did feel good and energetic.

  • Mile 1 : 10:05
  • Mile 2 : 10:06
  • Mile 3 : 9:56
  • Mile 4 : 10:15

I didn’t do a good job of beating the rain as a heavy cold rain started about mile 2. And, the daylight quickly faded as the rain came it. I didn’t wear my reflective vest or headlamp and I was probably hard to see in the fading day light and rain. But, I ended the run safely although somewhat soaked.

My room mates cooked french fries and cheeseburgers for dinner. I actually had a beer with dinner. Just one beer. And it was good!

 

Leave a Reply

