Hopefully A New World

If I would count my blessings then I am the most blessed man in the world.

However, I haven’t been counting any blessings of late. Monday night (12/28) I laid in bed and over ate and over drank and didn’t do anything of consequence or value. The day before was pretty much the same.

Last night, however, I decided to run. I ran 5.12 miles in 51:09 for an average pace of 9:58. The run lifted my spirits and the world has become a new place. Ah yes, just in time for the new year.

My splits:

  • 1 Mile : 10:04
  • 2 Mile : 9:50
  • 3 Mile : 9:56
  • 4 Mile : 9:51
  • 5 Mile : 10:06

I had a hard time on the last mile, as one can tell in the split. It was a cold and dark evening and my first run in the last three days. I didn’t properly warm up before I started running. And, my eating has been the pits so my stomach was full and jiggling. By the fourth mile, the bottoms of my feet were hurting. I don’t know if that means I need a new pair of shoes or new insoles.

I have let circumstances and events and things and personalities beat me down. The holiday’s did not help with its own brand of expectations and obligations. Mild depression has crept into my soul and is starting to find a hold. If I would talk to any other person like I talk to myself, I would have no friends.

However, the 5 miles was a good step in fighting back, or taking back, or rising above. My motto for 2016 is going to be “Progressing” and or “Improving” instead of perfection.

Leave a Reply

