Sunday Sunday

I stayed in bed until 10:30 am on Sunday morning (1/3). I was awake but stayed in bed for no reason. Although I was reading a new book and watching you tube videos. But, by 10:30, I was tired of laying in bed and decided to get out of bed.

Once I was out of bed, I thought it would be good to get in a long run. I didn’t run on Saturday (1/2) because I spent most of the day working outside since it was warm and sunny and I needed to be outside working.

I left the house about 11:30. My goal was to run 6.5 miles straight without walking and then complete 3 walk/run intervals afterwords.

The total distance was 8:35 miles. The total time was 1:24:29 for an average page of 10:21. The Nike+ app says I gained 418 feet in altitude and burned 1,057 calories.

The splits :

  • 1 mile : 9:46
  • 2 mile : 9:46
  • 3 mile : 9:58
  • 4 mile : 9:48
  • 5 mile : 9:57
  • 6 mile : 9:56
  • 7 mile : 11:16
  • 8 mile : 12:07

I finished the 6.5 miles without much difficulty. Although, by the end of the 6.5 miles I was beat and ready to go home. The day was covered with a thick grey overcast and there was a wind chill. A little sunshine would have helped. I was warm while running but when I began the walk/run intervals, I suddenly started to freeze. It was hard to pick up the running again even after a two-minute walk but my ego propelled me.

As I finished the 6.5 mile my roommate called and said he would like to run a lap around the neighborhood with me. The timing was perfect as I was about to pass by the house. I extended the walking break and meet him in front of the house and started the walk/run intervals. We ran 5 minutes, walked 2 minutes and then ran 5 more minutes. It was good to have a running partner for a mile. His 2016 resolution is to quite smoking and get back into shape. He finished the lap around the neighborhood and then went back home. I finished the third interval and I was totally wiped out and was happy to get back home too.

The 8.35 distance is the longest I’ve been out since I started running again. However, I might have gone too far. I was spent and frigid for the rest of the day and did nothing of significance.  Even a hot shower couldn’t warm me up. By late in the afternoon, I decided to crawl back in bed to get warm. I read the new book for a while and watched some you tube videos and took a quick nap. I was ok afterwards.

While I was running the 6.5 miles I decided that I needed a new pair of shoes. I thought the new insoles I bought last week would add some cushioning but they were not helping as the shoes still felt hard and flat. I vowed to myself to order a new pair when I finished the run. Of course, I didn’t. My feet didn’t hurt when I stopped running!

 

One thought on “Sunday Sunday

  1. I haven’t verbalized it yet, and while I do have running (2) 5k’s in my goals… I am really thinking that if I get those done in the first 6 months I can start training for a 10k… I think I can handle 6 miles. I really think I’ll be able to do it! So, I’m impressed with your 8!!
    But, I really get the cold… I’m in Texas, and our mornings have been in the 30’s, and anything below 50 is freezing to me. I posted on IG the other a picture of my lined pants, tucked into my socks, and a pair of compression shorts on top of that… just to keep warm enough to get in a quick 2 miles!!

Leave a Reply

