The Debate

It’s Friday. Yay.

I was out of bed by 4:30 am this morning. And immediately a debate as to if I should go to Planet Fitness or not started in my head. It was an honest debate. One side said that I shouldn’t go because my right hamstring is really, really sore and that I should crawl back into bed and rest. The other side said that I should go to the gym and work out on the elliptical instead of running on the treadmill and make it a light day.

As the debate swirled in my head I brushed my teeth, shaved and put in my contacts.

Finally, I said to those debating within my head … I said that it’s been only three days since I renewed the membership at an out-of-pocket expense of $89 and committed to $20 a month for the next 12 months … and I’m ready to take a day off after only three days!

I heard in my head … “you wimp”.

I quickly gathered my workout clothes and left. I was at the gym at 5:05 am. I walked on the treadmill for 30 minutes. I didn’t run. I spent 10 minutes on the elliptical and then did some of the weight machines. It was time well spent and I’m happy that I didn’t crawl back in bed.

I ran 4 miles on my first and second workout sessions at the gym. I suppose a light workout is ok for the third session.

As I was walking on the treadmill, I concluded that it’s important for me to get out of bed in and get to the gym in the mornings. I have noticed a shift in my attitude the last three days. I feel more productive at work as well.

I was also thinking that if I don’t have the motivation or energy to run or get in a sweaty workout on the weights, I could always tan as the gym offers free tanning with my $20 a month ‘black’ card membership. Cool. I could use a tan.

One thought on “The Debate

Leave a Reply

