Over The Weekend and a Weigh-In

184.6 pounds. Yay … weight loss. The month of January was good to me in regards to weight loss. 15.3 pounds in total.


Friday Night

I was worried about this morning’s weigh-in due to the Friday evening dinner where I slipped into a slight binge. For some reason, I ordered a plate of onion rings as an appetizer. Oh my, were they so good! For the meal, I ordered a small salad and a turkey wrap. Both were good. But, I regretted eating all that food.

Afterwards, I felt extremely stuffed. Uncomfortably stuffed, bloated, overweight. I have not felt that way since I started this weight loss effort.

We went to Chedders, a local chain restaurant. I would have believed a large dinner salad would have been on the menu and would have limited my selection to that. But I couldn’t find one. So I choose the small side salad and turkey wrap combo as it seemed the only reasonable thing to order if I wanted to stay under my calorie target.

It seems a mystery why I ordered the plate of onion rings?

In hind sight, I should have suggested that we have dinner at the local Steak N Shake, where I know they have a dinner salad.

My calories for Friday was 2,172. Well above my target of 1,610.


Saturday

There was sunshine mid morning on Saturday 1/28. Most of January has been dull, dark, gray, overcast. Hardly any sunshine. I thought that sunshine would make a hike at the Fort Harrison State Park a joy, so that is what I did. I hiked about 4 miles. It was a great time, in spite of the cold and the dark gray overcast which had hidden the sunshine that excited me to hike in the park in the first place.


A Week of Calories

  • Monday, 1/23 : 1,625
  • Tuesday, 1/24 : 1,040
  • Wednesday, 1/25 : 1,100
  • Thursday, 1/26 : 1,190
  • Friday, 1/27 : 2,172
  • Saturday, 1/28 : 1,508
  • Sunday, 1/29 : 1,225

My average daily calories was 1,408. That is about 200 calories under my target of 1,610. I was under the target on 5 days, with the lowest being Wednesday. The high was on Friday.

On Saturday evening, I felt a binge coming on. To counter the approaching binge, I carefully track a few snacks (popcorn and a protein drink) and just willed myself to stop eating when I hit the 1,508 mark, as I wanted to stay below the 1,610 target. The tracking helped to convince myself that I need to just stop eating that night.


Exercise

I exercised every day. Walked 21 miles over the week. Wow! I walked 4 miles on Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Double wow. What a number.

Saturday I ‘hiked’ through the Fort Harrison State Park. On Sunday, I actually made it to Planet Fitness and walked 3 miles on the treadmill. I ended the workout with a blister on my right ankle. Very odd.

In addition to the walking, I had two workouts on the Max Trainer, Tuesday and Wednesday.

I would like to introduce some running into the exercise program. Hopefully I can do that this week.

 


Painting

In an effort to stay busy over the weekend so I would not overeat from boredom or inactivity, I built a 7.5′ x 4′ stretcher frame, stretched a painted canvas and hung it.

I had a painting that I completed in August 2016. I had rolled it up and almost forgot about it. So when I was looking for something to do on Saturday afternoon, I thought I would build a frame and stretch the painting.

Thankfully, there was enough canvas to hang on one of the walls in the dinning room, above the buffet. It was an empty wall and needed something on it.

After a quick trip to Lowes to buy the supplies, I had the frame built. It took a while to stretch the canvas as I am still new to this process and still learning from trial and error. I eventually got the painting stretch and was happy with it. I then hung it on the wall in the dinning room.

I was happy with the result.

There is some canvas left over from the original painting, enough for several smaller frames. I will work on those this week.

Untitled Painting

Untitled Painting … built the frame, stretched the canvas and hung it in dining room on Saturday, January 28, 2017.


Blood Pressure

This morning my blood pressure was 114/76 with a resting heart rate of 65. Could that be normal?


Happy week to everyone.

2 thoughts on “Over The Weekend and a Weigh-In

Leave a Reply

