Ground Hog Day

It is Ground Hog Day. Punxsutawney Phil saw his shadow this morning. They say it will be another six weeks of winter.

I have two immediate thoughts. First, if Punxsutawney Phil lived in central Indiana he would not have seen his shadow for the last two weeks as there hasn’t been much, if any, sunshine. Second, there are about six more weeks to winter according to the calendar.

But it’s fun to have the hope that the cold and dark of winter is soon to end.


Yesterday’s Calories

I was a good boy on Wednesday, February 1. I kept the calories at 1,230 for the day, which is  380 calories below my target of 1,610. I had the typical menu, Slim Fast for breakfast and lunch and a grilled chicken salad for diner. No snacks.

Thankfully, I didn’t have much, if any, hunger during the day.


Exercise

I was able to walk five miles for the day. I walked two miles during my lunch break and three miles after work. The total for the week so far is 13 miles.

My intent was to work in the C25K Week 1 Day 2 workout during the three mile evening walk. However, for some reason, I didn’t bring any outdoor workout clothes. So, I just walked in my khakis and heavy winter coat. That is my attire when I walk during lunch so it isn’t a big deal to walk the three miles after work. I just need to prepare better in the future.

Also, my thighs were very sore yesterday. I’m sure it was a result of the first C25K workout I did on Monday evening  (1/31). Or it could have been the 100 stairs I climbed on the stair machine the same evening. Or it could have been a combination of both. So, postponing the C25k workout until this weekend was probably a good choice.

I’m not in a hurry to start running again, anyways. I’ve enjoyed the long walks and listening to sermons by John MacArthur and an audio book by AW Pink. I know that running will come when it’s ready for me.


Blood Pressure

This morning, in celebration of Ground Hog Day, my blood pressure was 113/75 with a resting heart rate of 61. Yay! Normal. I’m happy about the lower resting heart rate as it means the exercising is having an effect.


The Semicolon

I came across the Project Semicolon this morning after reading about it on the kirkmcconnell blog. What a cool concept.

The semicolon, as probably everyone knows, is used to pause but not complete a sentence.

It has become a symbol for a continuing but not ended life. Especially a life full of depression and mental illness. It motivates people to endure and continue in hope knowing it will get better even though it doesn’t feel so at the moment.

Apparently, it’s common to get a tattoo of a semicolon to affirm allegiance and a connection to those who suffer through depression or mental illness. I’ve never thought of having a tattoo on my body. But, maybe I will. As one who has just climbed out of depression and struggles with it, I can appreciate the semicolon in a new light


A Photo

A sunset

A sunset as viewed on the fitness trail at Freedom Park, Greenwood, Indiana on February 1, 2017.

Wishing everyone a great day!

.

 

One thought on “Ground Hog Day

Leave a Reply

