Calories, Bibliomania & Collecting Stuff

Someone once said “Slow and Steady Wins the Race”. Yesterday, February 6 was a slow and steady day.

I looked forward to my two mile lunch time walk but was foiled when a rain storm swept through. I walked maybe fifty yards before turning back to the car. I didn’t want to sit in wet khakis for the rest of the day at work.

I wasn’t able to get in the lunch time walk but was able to get in an evening walk of three miles. Unlike many of the evening walks before, this walk left me exhausted. I believe it was the wind, as it was strong and persistent. I felt like it was a boxer and just wanted to beat me up (which it did). The air temperature was great at the high 50’s but the wind made it seem like the high 30’s.

At home, I made a bacon and ranch salad (from a kit) with some chunk chicken (from a can). I watched an episode of Adam The Woo while eating the salad.

I ended the day at 1,195 calories with 273 exercise calories.


My Bibliomania

Afterwards, I laid down to read. I finished the “The Man Who Loved Books Too Much” by Allison Hoover Bartlett. Now, I’m ready to get on my bibliomania game, again.

At one time, I had a huge book collection. It was an eclectic collection. Textbooks, novels, reference books, Bibles, Time Life libraries, art books. Books I picked up at the dollar store and books I bought while on vacation. I read most of the books.

However, when my second wife left I decided to minimize my ‘stuff’ and it was natural to weed down the book collection. I made several trips to the local Half Price book store to sell the books. On one trip, I sold a few golf related books and walked away with more dollars from that sale then I did by selling the textbooks. Strange.

The ‘collection’ still needs weeding down. However, I will keep the Sue Grafton and Dean Koontz as they are my favorite authors.


Collecting Stuff

I started reading a new book, “Collections of Nothing” by William Davis King. This book was referenced in the Bartlett book. Hopefully I can get an appreciation on the psychology of collecting stuff.

My mom collects old mining gear and artifacts. My dad collected arrowheads at one time. He also has a camera collection. They are very discriminating and refined in their collecting approach. Those collections are displayed in fine custom cabinetry with accent lighting. Unlike my book collection which is displayed on dust covered shelves and kept in torn cardboard boxes.

I thought about collecting cameras, radios, televisions. At one time I collected geodes that I found while walking and hiking.

I don’t know why I want to amass more collections of stuff that I will eventually need to eventually sell at a loss, give away or trash.


Sunset Photo

I snapped this photo with the iPhone during last night’s walk.

Sunset, evening of February 7, 2017.

Sunset, evening of February 7, 2017. Taken from Freedom Park in Greenwood Indiana.


Other Thoughts

I started wearing a pair of ‘helper’ glasses at work, just to see the computer screen. Everything within 24″ is sharp and clear. However, everything beyond that is blurred. Kind of a strange perception. I feel like I’m in a translucent bubble where everything is sharp and clear but beyond the safety of the bubble it is blurred and dangerous.

I don’t walk or drive with these glasses. I can see fine for those tasks. It’s just a new and strange visual effect that I need to get used to.


Wishing everyone a great day !!

2 thoughts on “Calories, Bibliomania & Collecting Stuff

Leave a Reply

