The Change Cometh

I am amazed at the rate of change in the weather. The air temperature was in the high 50’s on Tuesday evening. It was pleasant, other than the strong and gusty wind. Last night, it was in the low 30’s with a mini blizzard.

Both evenings I walked the three miles on the fitness trail. One evening I actually sweated. The next evening I tried to stay warm. One evening I was loose and free. The next evening I was huddled in a heavy winter coat under a hat licking the blowing snow from my lips.


Calories for Wednesday February 8, 2017. 

1,412 calories was the final number for 2/8/2017. That is 198 calories below the target of 1,610. I had a Slim Fast shake for breakfast, a small grilled chicken salad for lunch and a larger salad with canned chicken for dinner. I also had a yogurt as a bed time snack.

There was no beer for the day. Although the 198 calories short of the target would have allowed for a 190 calorie Zombie Dust pale ale.


Exercise So Far This Week

I’ve exercised three days this week, so far. I walked 3 miles on Monday, 3 miles on Tuesday and 3 miles on Wednesday for a total of 11 miles.

On Tuesday it was raining so I couldn’t walk the two miles during my lunch break. On Wednesday, I didn’t have the opportunity to walk during lunch.

This evening I need to attend a birthday party, so I don’t believe there will be time to exercise after work. Unless I get out in the 20 degree day for a two mile walk during lunch there might not be any exercise today.

So, my mileage for this week is going to be far less than it has been in the prior weeks. Unless, of course, I make up for the lost miles over the weekend. Which I hear will be back in the 50’s to 60’s, which is oddly strange for central Indiana.


An NSV

This is the sixth week of my ‘eat less and move more’ effort of 2017. Thankfully I’ve lost a few pounds, drank less beer, counted and controlled calories and stepped up the exercise. I feel much better than I have in a long time. Those are Non Scale Victories of the first magnitude.

Yet, today, I can appreciate another NSV … I was able to comfortably tighten the belt to the fourth notch. I started at the second notch in January and now at the forth notch.

Yay !!

Recently, the third notch was becoming too loose but the fourth notch was too tight. However, this morning I was able to tighten to the forth notch. So very cool.


Photo

Here’s a photo from the fitness trail at Freedom Park in Greenwood Indiana, last night during my walk.

Mini blizzard on the evening of February 8, 2017.

Mini blizzard on the evening of February 8, 2017. Photo taken from Freedom Park in Greenwood, Indiana, looking south on the fitness trail.

 

2 thoughts on “The Change Cometh

Leave a Reply

