Another Birthday Party

I’ve noticed that people have birthdays. And, birthday parties. Why have I never noticed this before?

Of course I know people have birthdays. I have one myself. But when you are trying to lose weight, count calories, exercise more and watch the number on the scale, birthdays and birthday parties are something to be concerned about.

Last night I went to a birthday party and had a slice of cake and a scoop of ice cream. It was the polite thing to do. The host had gone to great lengths to make it a special occasion. I was given a corner piece birthday cake! I ate all the cake but was careful to cut out most of the icing. And it was so very good. Very good. Thankfully, there was a reserve of will power to not help myself to seconds. And, there was mega reserve of will power to resist the beer that was offered.


Calories for Thursday February 9, 2017

Even with the slice of birthday cake and ice cream, my calories totaled 1,535 for the day. I had Slim Fast for breakfast and lunch, the birthday cake and ice cream at the party and then a salad from Steak N Shake after the party. I didn’t snack so no snacking calories.

The 1,535 calorie total is just below my 1,610 target. I’m thankful that I was under the target with the birthday party calories included in the total.


Exercise for Thursday February 9, 2017

I was afraid that I would not be able to exercise on Thursday 2/9. The winter weather was almost too cold for outside walking. So I thought I would bail out of the lunch time walking. Yet, at noon, the sun was bright and it seemed surprisingly warm and inviting.

However, that was deceptive as the air temperature was only 19°F and the stiff gusty wind created a deep wind chill. Even so, I managed to walk two miles during lunch. And, oh my, it was cold.

The birthday party was scheduled for 6:30 pm. My shift at the office ends at 5:15 pm. So, there was enough time to get at least two walking miles before the party. The wind had died done by the time I started the evening walk. But, it was still very cold, maybe 23°F. As a bonus for being out in the cold, I squeezed in three miles of evening walking.

So, I totaled five walking miles for the day. According to MFP the file miles of walking burnt 453 calories.

The total walking miles for this week is 16, so far. Unfortunately, I will not be able to walk or exercise in any capacity today (Friday 2/10). The Lunch Club meets today and I have a date this evening, so there won’t be any opportunity to exercise.


Wishing everyone a great day !!

Leave a Reply

