Sixth Week Review

181.1  There was a 1.2 pound weight loss this week. I feel blessed and lucky to have any kind of weight loss this week as it wasn’t my best eating week since I started this weight loss effort.

I’ve lost 18.7 pounds since January 1, 2017. Even with the low loss this week, my weekly average is 3.11 pounds. I guess that isn’t too bad. To double-check: I started on January 1 at 199.8 pounds. Now I weight 181.1 pounds. That is a loss of 18.7 pounds, 199.8 – 181.1. I’ve been at this for six weeks, 18.7 / 6 = 3.11.

My original intent was to lose only 1 pound per week on average. The current average is 3.11 pounds. I’m encouraged by that. And, far ahead of my original plan.


Calories for the Week of February 6 – 12, 2017.

  • Monday 2/6 : 1,536
  • Tuesday 2/7 : 1,195
  • Wednesday 2/8 : 1,412
  • Thursday 2/9 : 1,535
  • Friday 2/10 : 2,557
  • Saturday 2/11 : 1,654
  • Sunday 2/12 : 1,005

Total Calories : 10,804. The daily averages was 1,543.

The was two days (Friday & Saturday) I went over the target of 1,610. Friday was a mega overload with 947 calories beyond the target. On that night, there was a dinner of a fried crispy chicken sandwich and tater tots and two slices of sausage pizza. Plus a lunch of a cashew chicken salad. It was a heavy eating day. I had some stomach issues after the pizza. After all that eating I felt a binge coming on late Friday night. Thankfully, I feel asleep before I could wreck even further the calorie count.

Saturday was a little better. However, there was a giant cupcake waiting for me at the end of the day, which I could not resist. The cupcake, which was so good threw me over the target.

Most of the week was spent near the target. Monday and Thursday eating was close enough. There was birthday cake and ice cream on Thursday.

Sunday was the lowest day with only 1,005 calories. But I intentionally limited the eating as to not unduly influence the weigh in number this morning.


Exercise for the Week of February 6 – 12, 2017.

I exercised six days of the week. Friday was the only day I wasn’t able to exercise. I walked 23 miles over the week. I guess that is not too bad. However, I only climbed onto the Max Trainer once. And, I did not run at all. I did not even attempt to run at all this week.

The highlight of the week in regards to exercise came on Saturday, 2/11. It was such a warm day for mid February in central Indiana with temperatures in the low 70’s. I took advantage of this unseasonable warmth and drove to the Fort Harrison State Park in Indianapolis.

Other people had the same idea as the park was crowded with hikers, walkers, runners and cyclists. There was even a long line at the gate to get into the park. And there was even a longer line at the gate when I left. I hiked the Lawrence Creek trail for about 3.7 miles. It was a muddy trail. But, otherwise, it was a good time to be outside.

Walnut Trailhead of the Lawrence Creek Trail.

Walnut Trailhead of the Lawrence Creek Trail. Photo taken on February 11, 2017.


Non Scale Victories

There were two NSVs this week.

The first was when I was able to comfortably move to a tighter notch on the belt. That means there has been some loss of circumference around the mid section.

The second was when I tried on a pair of hiking pants. I bought this pair almost two years ago. I bought them for my June 2015 trip to Colorado. The pants were too tight when I bought them. I could squeeze into them. It was uncomfortable but bearable. The pair was a large size but the extra large was too big. Even though the pair was too tight, I bought them anyways. I only wore the pant once during the trip. They have been in the closet ever since.

When I decided to drive to the park on Saturday afternoon to hike I tried on the hiking pants to see if I could fit into them. And, I could. And, I could comfortably. Wow. What a rush of satisfaction.


Other Things

This morning, my blood pressure was 113/75 with a resting heart rate of 60. Wow. That is a great number for me.

I had only two beers last week. One on Monday 2/6 and one on Friday 2/11. That brings my total to 3 beers for the month.

On Sunday afternoon, I worked on stretching my final painting. Now, all the paintings I’ve done since August 2016 are now stretched and ready to hang or give away. I also built two frames for future paintings. During the time I spent in the workshop I really wanted to drink some beer. In the past, a Sunday afternoon would have been spent working in the workshop and drinking beer. However, since I am trying to lose weight, drinking beer in the same quantities as before is just not conducive. It was hard to say no, especially when I had already believed I’ve wrecked the weight loss effort for the week with all the overeating on Friday and Saturday. Thankfully, I stayed the course and did not have any beer.


Wishing everyone a great day and a great week.

4 thoughts on “Sixth Week Review

  1. Those non-scale victories are so important. Personally, I feel they are a bigger deal than what the scale says. The scale is fickle, and on weeks where it doesn’t say what you want it to, you can focus on the non-scale victories you’re noticing and those will keep you motivated!

Leave a Reply

