A Good Wednesday but Annoyed

Wednesday was a good day. For my eating, I finished the day at 1,356 calories, which is below my daily target of 1,610 by 254 calories. I had a Slim Fast shake for breakfast and lunch. The chunk chicken chopped salad for dinner. Although, I had two Yoplait yogurts as a bed time snack.

My exercise calories were 438. That equates, for me, to be about 5 miles of walking, or 100 minutes of walking, or about 20 minutes per mile. I did the usual two mile walk during lunch and the 3 mile walk after work. And, my, was it ever the gusty windy walk.

Walked under this bleak sky on the evening of Wednesday, March 1, 2017.

Walked under this bleak sky on the evening of Wednesday, March 1, 2017.


Family Night

This evening is Family Night, where the kids come home to hang and eat. Usually, we all decide where to go for dinner or to eat in with a pizza order and watch something on Netflix. However, for this evening, they already decided that IHOP is our dinner destination.

I looked up the calories in a IHOP Cobb Salad with Grilled Chicken on the My Fitness Pal app. Wow … about 1,100 calories. That is in-line with chicken cobb salads from Bob Evans and other similar restaurants.


Annoyed

For some reason I’ve become annoyed at ads for food and restaurants. This is strange as I have never annoyed with all the food and restaurant advertising before. These ads create a desire to stop at the local Wendy’s or McDonald’s for a double cheeseburger and fries.

One would think that filling up the gas tank at the local Turkey Hill station I would be sheltered from these food advertisements.

But, at my last fill-up, I was visually assaulted with a swing board ad while I stood around waiting for the tank to fill with gas. While standing and waiting, I actually considered buying the XXL cheeseburger for $4.49. I was hungry at the time and thought this would be a quick solution.

Thankfully, I was able to resist the temptation to go inside the store and get the cheeseburger, or a roller dog, or a snack of cheese crackers or a Little Debbie cake or some other goodness.

A swing board advertising a $4.49 XXL cheeseburger and a $3.99 XXL pepperoni pizza. Spotted at a Turkey Hill convenience store on the south side of Indianapolis on February 27, 2017.

A swing board advertising a $4.49 XXL cheeseburger and a $3.99 XXL pepperoni pizza. Spotted at a Turkey Hill convenience store on the south side of Indianapolis on February 27, 2017.

 


Water Heater

My 15-year-old water heater has given up the ghost. It doesn’t give any hot water.

So, I have a task this weekend – to replace the water heater.

For me, it is not a simple task. I can’t just go buy a new water heater. Most people can. They have trucks. I don’t have a truck. So I have to schedule a truck rental, pick up the truck, go to Lowes to buy the new water heater, have a Lowes employee help me load the new water heater into the rental truck and drive home.

Did I mention that I need to rent an appliance dolly to move the new water heater to the basement. If I had some help it wouldn’t be a problem to move the new water heater downstairs and I would not need to rent an appliance dolly. But, since I have no help and I won’t ask for help, I need to do it on my own.

So, for me, buying a new water heater is not like buying a new wrench or a new pair of pliers.

Things would be different if I would ask for help … but alas … I don’t.


Wishing everyone a great day!

Leave a Reply

