Early Morning

This morning, I was up at 4:35 am. The alarm goes off at 4:30 am each work day. This alarm setting is a hold-over from the time (feels like so long ago) when I routinely was up at 4:30 am to prepare to get to Planet Fitness to workout. In those days, I ran on the treadmill and pushed around some weight.

These days, I still wake up when the alarm goes off at 4:30 am. Usually, I wake up to turn off the alarm and then immediately fall back asleep. I sleep until the next alarm goes off at 6:05 am. The 6:05 alarm is the time I need to get up and get ready for work.

However, this morning was different. The 4:30 alarm went off and I woke up to turn it off. Yet, I stayed up. And, I decided to take a walk.

So, I did. I walked around the neighborhood for 60 minutes. That equates to about 3 miles. I started the walk at 5:05 am and ended at 6:05 am, just in time to turn off the alarm.

Hopefully, maybe, this will jump start a new exercise time, where I exercise in the morning instead of after work. This would be advantageous since I could use the time in the evening for yard and outside work when the weather brings warmer temperatures.

Honestly, I prefer the morning workouts. However, I just haven’t disciplined myself to get up at the 4:30 alarm. Maybe things will change. I want to start the C25K program soon and it will be a good time to get back in the habit of morning workouts.


March 6, 2017 Eating Calories

I ended the day at 1,221 calories. That is 389 calories below the target of 1,610. Maybe that number is too low? I don’t know. My dinner salad was lower in calories than usual at about 700. I had the usual Slim Fast shakes for breakfast and lunch. There was a yogurt for a snack.


March 6, 2017 Exercise Calories

I was able to get in the five walking miles for the day: two miles at lunch and three miles after work. The walking effort burned 435 calories.


Blood Pressure

This morning, my blood pressure was 110/72 with a resting heart rate of 58. And, this was after the 3 mile walk. I would have expected the heart rate to be higher. But, 58 is the lowest heart rate I’ve seen it for almost two years.


Random Photo

This photo is from my June 2015 trip to Colorado. I was on the Whitney Lake trail and entering a groove of aspen trees. This hike was wonderful. However, I was totally out of shape at the time and due to the elevation, the incline, my lack of fitness and the snow pack, I was unable to make it to Whitney Lake, which was about 2.4 miles from the trail head. One day I will return and complete the hike.

Entering an Aspen Grove along the Whitney Lake Trail, Holy Cross Wilderness, Colorado.

Entering an Aspen Grove along the Whitney Lake Trail, White River National Forest – Holy Cross Wilderness, Colorado. June 16, 2015.


Wishing everyone a great day !

Leave a Reply

