New Hikers

I was up at 4:45 am this morning and out the door at 5:05 am for a 60 minute walk around the dark, foggy but slightly warm neighborhood. For that effort, I burned 256 early morning calories.

As I walked, I thought that maybe I should run. Or at least attempt to run. But, instead, I enjoyed the walk, listening to a John MacArthur sermon and then switching over to some music by Phil Wickman. I also heard early morning song birds, a sign of Spring.

Maybe I will try a run this evening. My next C25K workout is Week 2 Day 2.


Calories for Monday March 20, 2017

I ended the first day of Spring 2017 with 1,261 calories. That is 349 calories below my daily target. There was the usual Slim Fast shake for lunch and breakfast. And, a large salad with chunk chicken for dinner. I also indulged in a beer, a Zombie Dust pale ale. The beer added 190 calories to the board.

For exercise, I walked five miles; three in the evening after work and two during my lunch break. The effort burnt 426 calories.


New Hikers

I wear ‘hiking’ shoes at work. They go well with my khakis. Some people in the office wear typical dress shoes, some people where sneakers. Since I usually walk during lunch and after work, I walk in my ‘office hikers’. I don’t take a pair of running or walking shoes to change into when I do my walking.

Anyways, with all the walking I’ve done since January 1 the hiking shoes finally wore out. The tread was worn off, the uppers were dirty and it was time to buy a new pair.

So, I go to the local Shoe Carnival, where I bought my last pair of hikers. I quickly find a new pair of the same hikers, a Columbia brand, “Lakeview” model (YM-5143-231) for about $55. Actually, I got this pair for $28 since I also bought a pair of Merril Yokota Trail Ventilator hikers for about $75. I also bought some new socks to go along with the new hikers.

These hikers will be fine for my needs, in the office and walking around the fitness trail during lunch and after work.

Fresh pair of Columbia Lakeview Hikers bought on March 20, 2017 from Shoe Carnival.

Fresh pair of Columbia Lakeview Hikers bought on March 20, 2017 from Shoe Carnival.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “New Hikers

Leave a Reply

