Highest Bidder

I recently stumbled into ebay. Of course, I’ve known about eBay since it’s inception so long ago. Yet, I’ve never felt the need or desire to buy or bid.

Until recently my only experience with eBay was about 14 years ago. I placed a rather high bid on an old Wollensak tape recorded. I was going to buy it and give it to my dad as a Christmas gift. He had a Wollensak when he was a kid.

The bid was high. High enough that no one else would probably want to pay that price. Yet, as I learn later, the ability to ‘snipe’ was aggressive on that auction. While I watched the final seconds tick away my bid was outplayed by a $.05 higher bid. There was no time to place another bid. I was devastated as my unique Christmas gift to my Dad was bought by someone else.

I never returned to eBay after that experience.

Of course, I was naive. And, I was not willing to spend the time or money, nor did I have the desire to learn how to successfully move through an eBay auction. My only connection to eBay afterwards was Weird Al’s eBay song from his Poodle Hat CD.

Yet, I recently stumbled onto a painting that I wanted to buy. It was selling on an eBay auction. Even with my long past bad experience, I thought I would take another plunge into the world of eBay and so I placed a bid. I placed what I consider to be a fair bid, the money I was willing to spend on this painting. It was a small abstract. It fit my mood and depression at the time. That is why I was eager to own it.

Bad screen shot of a painting that I purchased from an eBay auction. Painting by Claire McElveen.

Bad screen shot of a painting that I purchased from an eBay auction. Painting by Claire McElveen. Her web site is http://www.mcelveenstudioart.com.

The auction was ending a few hours after I placed my bid. Later that evening I received a confirmation email that I was the ‘winner’. I did a happy dance.

The painting should arrive in the mail this week.


Calories for Monday, March 27, 2017

I ended the day at 1,491 calories. That is slightly below my 1,610 target by 119 calories. Although, it wasn’t my best eating day. I had a Slim Fast shake for breakfast, a protein bar for lunch, two Zombie Dust bottles of beer for ‘cocktail’ hour and a chucked chicken salad for dinner. I suppose the two bottles of Zombie Dust (2 x 190 = 360 calories) wasn’t the best choice but they were so good.


Exercise for Monday, March 27, 2017

I was able to exercise. I believe it was the first time in five days that I felt energetic enough to do some exercise. I walked a total of four miles. During the for miles I was able to get in a C25K session, Week 2 Day 2. So, I walked and ran, although the running was about 6 minutes spread over 28 minutes. Yet, it was enough for me at the moment.


Wishing everyone a great day !!

Leave a Reply

