Calories and Art


Calories for Wednesday, April 5, 2017

My total calories for Wednesday, April 5, 2017 was a heavy 1,853, which is 243 calories above my daily target of 1,610 calories.

The bulk of the calories came at dinner, where I consumed a plate of Spaghetti Carbonara, a caesar side salad and a slice of bread. I also had two bottles of Sierra Nevada Pale Ale. The total dinner calories were 1,453.

The family gathered at an Italian restaurant to celebrate my mom’s recovery from her stroke of late February. She has made a marvelous recovery. A doctor visit earlier that day confirmed that she is on her way to a full recovery. It was the first time mom has been outside the house (except for doctor’s appointments) since the event.

I had the usual Slim Fast shake for breakfast and a protein bar for lunch. I realize the two bottle of the all-so-wonderful Sierra Nevada Pale Ale pushed me over the target. Had I refrained from consuming the beer I would have been under the target. Fortunately I stopped at two bottles.

I had zero exercise calories for the day. Thankfully, the pain in my feet has subsided. It’s not gone but is fading. I may be ready for a short walk or run over the weekend.


New Art

Yesterday I mentioned that I purchased a drawing from the Tri Kappa New Artist show at the Lafayette Art Museum in Lafayette, Indiana. I intended to include a photo but did not include it before I posted. Anyways, here is the photo.

Loss Of Innocence, a drawing that I purchased from the Tri Kappa New Artist show at the Lafayette Art Museum, Lafayette, Indiana.

Loss Of Innocence, a drawing that I purchased from the Tri Kappa New Artist show at the Lafayette Art Museum, Lafayette, Indiana.

I’m amazed at the talent these young artists exhibit. The works in painting, drawing, textiles and sculpture was varied and showed concern for theme and style. The Loss of innocence drawing is really a mixed media piece, a drawing and collage. It caught my heart and attention as there is so much to look at and explore about in this piece, one reason why I love a great collage as this one is. Thankfully, it was still for sale. Many pieces were not for sale as patrons had already bought those items. The show started on March 9, 2017. I walked through the galleries three weeks later.

View of one gallery of the Tri Kappa New Artist show at the Lafayette Art Museum, Lafayette, Indiana. There were two galleries of new student art work.

View of one gallery of the Tri Kappa New Artist show at the Lafayette Art Museum, Lafayette, Indiana. There were two galleries of new and original student art work.


Wishing Everyone a Great and Beautiful Day !!

Leave a Reply

